Social media is a massive tool to easily influence a large market. Among the younger generation, Instagram is a big hit with its ease of use for easily sharing photos and videos. Instagram now has over a billion users registered and continues to grow each day. Some of biggest social media accounts feature music stars. So in our post, we have covered some of the top musicians with massive Instagram followings.

Ariana Grande @arianagrande musician/actor with 172 million followers

Ariana Grande is an American popstar singer and actress. She initially rose to prominence as a cast member on the Nickelodeon TV show Victorious. She later pursued a music career quickly achieving notoriety. She uses her Instagram account to post occasional updates, such as her touching tribute to boyfriend Mac Miller following his death.

Selena Gomez @selenagomez musician/actor with 166 million followers

Selena Gomez, like Ariana Grande, is also a pop singer and actress. At one point she was the most followed account on Instagram and has previously posted snippets of her upcoming releases.

Beyonce @beyonce musician with 138 million followers

Beyonce, legally known as Beyonce Giselles Knowles-Carter, is an American singer and actress. Her career started as a member of Destiny’s Child before starting her successful solo career. Her musical style is a mix of funk, pop and soul. Beyonce used her Instagram account to announce the birth of her two twins.

Taylor Swift @taylorswift musician with 125 million followers

Taylor Swift is a popular singer and song writer. Her initial musical releases had a very heavy country focus, with later songs progressing to mix between multiple genres. During the 2018 American presidential elections, she used her Instagram account to affirm support for the Democrats.

Justin Bieber @justinbieber musician with 125 million followers

Justin Bieber is a Canadian singer and song writer. He career started because he released YouTube covers of songs before being scouted and signed. In early 2019, he announced on Instagram that he would be taking a short hiatus from music to work on some personal issues. More recently in early January of 2020, he announced that he was diagnosed with Lyme disease.

Nicki Minaj @nickiminaj musician with 109 million followers

Nicki Minaj, also known as Onika Tanya Maraj-Petty was born in Trinidad and Tobago but raised in Queens, New York City. She has been known for her colourful costumes and has dubbed herself the ‘Queen of Rap.’ In 2018, she released the postponement of her album Queen on Instagram. She is the most followed rapper on Instagram.

Jennifer Lopez @jlo musician and actress with 109 million followers

Jennifer Lopez, also known by her nickname J. Lo, is a singer, actress and fashion designer. She is an excellent dancer and during her early career was a back up dancer for New Kids on the Block. She has achieved great success as a businesswoman and leverages her position via Instagram and other social media accounts.

Miley Cyrus @mileycyrus musician and actress with 103 million followers

Miley Cyrus, daughter of country singer Billy Ray Cyrus, first achieved fame on the Disney show Hannah Montana. Since then, she has pursued a successful music career with hit songs like Party in the USA, We Can’t Stop, Wrecking Ball and more.

In 2015, she promoted a positive transgender campaign on Instagram using the hashtag #Instapride to encourage greater tolerance of same gender attraction.

Katy Perry @katyperry musician with 88 million followers

Katy Perry (Katheryn Elizabeth Hudson), is an American singer and songwriter. Her second studio album ‘One of the Boys’, chartered and launched her success with her third album ‘Teenage Dream’ being another great follow up success. With her massive Instagram and social media follow, she has been noted as one of the internet’s most influential people.

Rihanna @badgalriri musician with 78 million followers

Rihanna (Robyn Rihanna Fenty), is a Barbados born singer and songwriter. She has embraced a number of musical styles throughout her career. In December of 2019, she announced on Instagram that the release date for her new album would-be put-on hold.

Demi Lovato @ddlovato musician and actress with 76 million followers

Demi Lovato is a singer, songwriter and actress having appeared on multiple TV broadcasts. In May of 2019, she announced her new manager Scooter Braun. Later that month, she announced her guest role on the sitcom Will & Grace. In October 2019, she received some backlash after posting pictures in Israel on Instagram of her baptism in the Jordan River. She later apologised saying the post was purely a spiritual experience and not political.

Drake @champagnepapi musician with 62 million followers

Drake (Aubrey Drake Graham), is an actor and more recently, popular rap star. He promotes his work on Instagram where he posts multiple video commercials.

Chris Brown @chrisbrown musician with 60 million followers

Chris Brown (Christopher Maurice Brown), is an American R&B/hip-hop artist. He has made announcements regarding his musical releases on Instagram, such as in 2014 with the release of his new album, or in 2018 where he publicised a joint-studio album with the rapper Rich The Kid.

Cardi B @iamcardib musician with 57 million followers

Cardi B is an American rap star with a career that has only achieved notable stardom success since 2017. Her popularity on Instagram and Vine contributed to her rapid success dating back as early as 2013.

Shawn Mendes @shawnmendes musician with 55 million followers

Shawn Mendes is a Canadian born musician, often heard here. So far during his career, Shawn has been nominated for three Grammy awards.

Billie Eilish @billieeilish musician with 49 million followers

Billie Eilish was born in 2001 and did start making an impact on the music scene until 2015. She tailors her public image online via Instagram where she wears unique, memorable clothing.

Camila Cabello @camila_cabello musician with 46 million followers

Camila Cabello is a Cuban-American singer who grew up in Miami, Florida. Her music has R&B and pop genre styles. In September 2019, she teased the release of her second album Romance on Instagram.